Team introduction: Azerbaijan


Team introduction: Azerbaijan

The introductory tour of players from the 35 nations that will compete in the 2015 European Team Chess Championship continues.

It is worth mentioning that the participating nations have until October 12th to confirm the exact team lists with all names; the player lists might change until that date.

Today we introduce the Azerbaijani teams.

The 2009 Champions, 2011 runners-up and defending ETC Champions from Azerbaijan are sending two very strong teams this year.

The Open team is led by GM Teimour Radjabov (2738) who has played in every ETCC since 2001, seven in total, collecting two team golds, a silver and a bronze. Playing on the 2nd board is also a renowned GM, Shrakhriyar Mamedyarov (2736) who also played in every single ETCC since 2001, picking up two individual golds, for his performance on the 4th board in 2009 and the 3rd board in 2011.

The open team

  1. GM Teimour Radjabov (2738)
  2. GM Shakhriyar Mammadyarov (2736)
  3. GM Arkadij Naidich (2682)
  4. GM Rauf Mamedov (2657)
  5. GM Eltaj Safarli (2657)

Captain: Murad Isgandarli
Trainer: GM Alexander Khalifman

The Woman team

  1. WGM Zeynab Mammadyarova (2269)
  2. WIM Ulviyya Fataliyeva (2294)
  3. WGM Gulnar Mammadova (2314)
  4. WIM Khayala Abdulla (2320)
  5. WGM Narmin Kazimova (2323)

Captain: Fikrat Sideifzada

We wish our dear friends from Azerbaijan best of luck in the championship!

Facebook Comments

October 5th, 2015|News, Team Introductions|Comments Off on Team introduction: Azerbaijan

Comments are closed.