Team introduction: Latvia


Team introduction: Latvia

latviaThe introductory tour of players from the 35 nations that will compete in the 2015 European Team Chess Championship continues.

It is worth mentioning that the participating nations have until October 12th to confirm the exact team lists with all names; the player lists might change until that date.

Today we introduce the Latvian teams.

The Latvian teams are both quite strong, containing great experience mixed with youth and talent.

The Open team is led by the legendary and world-renowned Grand master, Alexei Shriov (2712), who has accumulated a mindbogglingly long list of achievements in his career. Shirov is the winner of many international tournaments, his biggest triumph being the Category 21 M-Tel Masters in 2009, where he went undefeated, scoring 6½ / 10, defeating GM Vassily Ivanchuck twice and the current World Champion, GM Magnus Carlsen in the last round. He has played countless team competitions: including on the top board in 11 Olympiads (3 for Latvia and 7 for Spain), on board 1 for Latvia at the 1993 World Team Championship, winning an individual silver medal, six European Team Chess Championships (Spain), winning an individual gold in 1999, and many European Club Cups, winning many medals, including an individual gold and silver. He is arguably one of the most experienced team chess players in the world. Playing with Shirov are experienced Grand masters and the 21-year-old IM Tom Kantāns (2502), all belonging to the top 10 highest rated players in Latvia.

Eight time Latvian Woman Chess Champion, WGM Laura Rogule (2277) is leading the team in the Woman section. She is the 2002 female U14 World Champion and has in her career played in many team events for Latvia. She played as a reservist in the European Team Chess Championship in 2001 (León) and has also played in six Olympiads from 2006 – 2014 on board three to first in 2010 (Khanty-Mansiysk) and 2012 (Istanbul).

The open team

  1. GM Alexei Shirov (2712)
  2. GM Igor Kovalenko (2699)
  3. GM Arthur Neikšāns (2591)
  4. GM Normunds Miezis (2490)
  5. IM Tom Kantāns (2502)

Women team:

  1. WGM Laura Rogule (2277)
  2. WGM Ilze Berzina (2207)
  3. WGM Dana Reizniece-Ozola (2203)
  4. WIM Katrina Šķiņķe (2222)

We wish our Latvian friends best of luck in the championship!

Facebook Comments

September 30th, 2015|News, Team Introductions|Comments Off on Team introduction: Latvia

Comments are closed.